Short one

So much has been going on in life, that it makes it hard to get on as much as I want. Trust me when I say, I have tons to say and think about out loud…well in writing I suppose. I started grad school, which I’m sure I’ve already mentioned, back in January so between that, working, and being a wife and mommy, it’s hard to keep everyone up to date with everything!

We had an event early this month which I was pretty proud of. We called it “Vintage Viands”. We put out an all call to people in the library to help us showcase our online digital collection of home economics pamphlets by making something out of the pamphlets and bringing it in for the students and whoever else, to sample. It was a lot of work but I think it was a huge success! We had a friendly competition of the worse and best recipes. The best were Gingersnap Balls and the worse was Turkey Aspic (so gross!).

aspic

This monstrosity took the winner of the worst

Callie

I successfully squeezed orange and lemon juice for the first time for my recipes! I made this awesome raspberry lemonade and I made fudge and of course I had to try my hand at an apsic too!

Callie aspic

This was my aspic. It has gelatin, tomato juice, onion, salt and pepper, radishes, and cabbage and a little lemon juice. Needless to say, I will never make this to eat, just to eat.

flyer

This was our poster and flyer that was designed by my co-worker and tweaked a little by our supervisor. It turned out well I think.

I think we have decided to make it an annual event. It went smoothly and people seemed to enjoy it a lot. I even had people ask us to hold it again next year!

I’ve also had this going on:

10475422_10152860804199263_7650004462596060299_o

Nothing like a dose of snow to bring the child out in you. I’m back at work today, unfortunately, while my sweet husband (who tubed into the night like a big kid last night) and my sweet son are sledding it up today. I’m sure all that white stuff will be around tomorrow so I can play too. =)

Leave a Reply

