Millennial

Dear world,

I am a millennial.

– Me

This is the first time I’ve ever considered myself a millennial. Let’s face it, I’m an old soul who acts like I’m in my seventies. For as long as I can remember, I’ve always gone to bed by 9, 10 at the absolute latest. I’ve never been drunk in my entire life and I don’t even drink. I have a set schedule and try to maintain that schedule at all costs. My idea of fun is going out to eat and maybe going to an early movie, swinging by Krispy Kreme, and coming back home so I can snuggle up in my nice, warm bed. Saturdays are my cleaning days and in college they were my “get-all-my-homework-done-for-the-week-so-I-don’t-have-to-do-anything-during-the-week” days (which I guess I’ll have to get back in that mode since I’m going back to school to get my master’s). I didn’t even really start wearing make-up until a few years ago. Not your typical millennial.

But as I get older, I realize I am more like my generation than I first thought and that’s all because of social media. I sometime think I live for social media. Whether it’s really because I’m nosy, or because I’m socially inept and it’s the only way I will keep up with acquaintances (or both, I think it’s a little of both…maybe) has yet to be seen. I’m trying to get with the times, though. I’ve had Facebook and Pinterest for a while. A friend actually had to convince me to abandon my trusty Myspace for Facebook in college. Pinterest was an easy sale. I’m in love obsessed with Pinterest. Twitter, not so much. As I’ve gotten older I find myself craving news (weird I know) and Twitter seems to place to get that news. So I broke down and joined Twitter; not so much to keep up with people (does that make me socially awkward?) but to keep up with what’s going on in the world and check out some of these hashtags (in reference to the last post you should check out the hastag #UNCGdropthecharges) <— That’s a topic for another post. That mess has morphed into an even bigger mess. The forums are ridiculous and no matter how many times I asks my question about secondary employment, they can’t seem to give me a yes-no answer (but they can charge someone like they know the policies? Well please share them with the rest of us so we won’t be in the same boat as those people in regards to secondary employment). We have an open forum with the Chancellor, no less, on the issues on Friday. That should be interesting. After the last two that’s I’ve been to, people are not happy, and I can’t blame them. I’m not exactly thrilled about the situation either. Morale is at an ultimate low, which is sad for such an awesome university.

Anyway, if anyone has any suggestions on cool things to follow, please let me know! =)

You can follow me @librarytechmom

One thought on “Millennial

Leave a Reply

