Fore-edge paintings

I just had to share what I’m cataloging today! I have seen these several times but I think these are gorgeous and definitely worth sharing. Let me illustrated what I’m referring to.

photo 1 (1) photo 2 (1) photo 3 (1)

These all look like regular edges, right? I’ve always loved gilt edges. I think they look fancy and refined and I just like that in my books. =) But, check this out:

photo 1photo 2 photo 1

If you fan the edges just a bit, you see fore-edge paintings! I just think these are so gorgeous. The detail is amazing and I’m always surprised when I come across these because they are in such awesome condition. I’m sure the colors were once more brilliant, but the colors are still right on and perfect.

These three scenes are of Dublin, Worcester, and Folkestone and were probably painted in the 1920s and 30s by the “Dover Painter”, which is interesting because these books were published in 1788 (they are found on The works of James Thomson, 1788). That means the “Dover Painter” came along and painted the fore-edge after they had already been in circulation a while.

My goal in life is to one day learn to be a fore-edge painter. I’ll have to learn to actually paint first though lol. Have I mentioned how much I love my job?!

Leave a Reply

