Three little words

My son (who is going to be 21 months in a couple of days) has finally started talking. When I mean talking, I don’t mean language only I can understand. His vocabulary has really taken off here in the last couple of months after he played catch up. He had ear tubes put in back in April and, boy, has it made a huge difference!

Before having my son, I never really thought about language. Sure I’ve thought about weird words a few times (we have a word of a day thing going on at work. Sometime it turns into who can come up with the most bizarre word), like the word “walk”. Think about it. Think about that way it sounds. That is just a bizarre words to me and I would love to know who made it up. Who suddenly decided to string those syllables together to give it the meaning it does? But, I never thought about what it would be like not to be able to communicate.

After having a frustrated toddler, I’ve definitely thought about it now. Sometimes I felt so bad for him because he knew what he wanted but he just couldn’t express it to me. Before he could talk, we definitely had some of these days:

UA1044013011

(http://libcdm1.uncg.edu/cdm/compoundobject/collection/ui/id/53035/rec/10)

When he learned what “show me” meant, that made a world of difference. He learned that when I got up, it wasn’t me ignoring him or not paying attention to what he wanted, it was me getting up to follow him so he could point out what he wanted and so I could accommodate him (or not if it was something that he didn’t need in which case a major meltdown would ensue).

It just amazes me how much his vocabulary has exploded just in the last month. He’s parroted most things we’ve said (which means we have to be careful about what we say and what he hears on TV now (it’s easier for one of us more than the other. I’ll let you figure out which is having a harder time with their language 😉 ).  He’s able to connect meaning to the words which is really the key to all this. He knows the word grape with get him those lovely, sweet things out of the fridge; that eat will get him some food, juice will get him drink, etc… He knows some words get an action, like kiss. You tell him to give you a kiss and he’ll plant a big one right on you. Sometimes you don’t even have to prompt him (which are the best kisses ever).

This morning when we were headed out the door, we were telling my husband bye. And all of a sudden this kid pipes up and says, “Bye-bye. I love you”. My heart instantly melted. This is the first time he’s said that without being prompted (and said a full sentence). There’s just something about hearing that sweet voice say those three words that makes you know everything is right with the world. The way my husbands face lit up took me back to when we saw our son on the ultrasound for the first time.  I will never forget these moments as long as I live. I love the fact that both of the people I love more than anything else in the world are completely in love with each other too. So many people don’t get to see this kind of love, or feel it for that matter, and that makes me the luckiest person around. Things like this remind me of how fortunate I am to live the life I do, where I do and with who I do. So when I’m having a bad day, instead of focusing on the negative, I’ll focus on the positive and try to remember how lucky I truly am.

 

Leave a Reply

