When grown ups act like children

Hopefully, there won’t be too many of these type of posts on my blog since I think it’s ridiculous to complain about this you have no control over, but this one was worth discussing/complaining about. You have been warned in advance that there will, I repeat, WILL be complaining in this post

I live in the grand state of North Carolina, you know, the state that’s been in the news about how poorly we are doing as a state, especially concerning teachers. Let me start out by saying, I am not a political person. I do vote at every election and follow some news concerning the things that will impact me as a citizen, but I don’t really follow everything that our government is doing, until budget time that is.

Every year the state is supposed to have the budget in by July 1st. Do they make that deadline? No, but I highly suspect they would if money stated disappearing from their pay checks for everyday it was late, but that’s neither here nor there. It’s the 10th and there still hasn’t been a budget decision, which means no raises for anyone this month, I believe (I think payroll has to be in by today or tomorrow).

So I’m checking to see if any decisions have been made yet. To their credit, I would not want to be the one making budgeting decisions. Someone has to take cuts and we have all had our share of cuts already which makes it doubly hard. But as I was looking up the information I ran across this article: http://www.newsobserver.com/2014/07/09/3994642/senators-walk-out-of-budget-negotiations.html

Seriously?! SERIOUSLY? You are going to physically remove yourself from a room because someone came to give you an insider perspective on what the implications would be if you made a cut in that area? I was seriously disgusted when I read that. Even if both sides didn’t agree for these people to come speak, it is still highly disrespectful to not even listen! I think sometimes they forget that they represent THE PEOPLE and to be so blatantly disrespectful to not give them a moment to speak after traveling that far just so you can be a child and make a point.

It breaks my heart that people can’t just be decent human beings and listen to the people they are representing because they want to make a point. I will also point out here that the Christmas stocking and coal stunt was also extremely juvenile. No wonder nothing gets done in this state if people are just thinking up ways to stick it to the other side. Use that brain power to get a compromise on the budget instead of using it to be so immature.

If every senator walked out of that meeting, I can assure you I will not be voting for the person who represents my district if they go up for re-election. I want someone in office that will, I don’t know, actually do their job and listen to the people.

Leave a Reply

